Sancti Spíritus Province

Sancti Spíritus is the most central province of Cuba. Its provincial boundaries enclose a large number of attractions, including the illustrious town of Trinidad. Actually, Trinidad owes its existence to the sugar industry that flourished in the nearby Valley de los Ingenios (Valley of the Sugar Mills) from the late 18th century to the late 19th century.

Vestiges of this period still can be found here, such as the Manaca Iznaga tower (1750), named after one of the richest people of that time. A tower of 44 m was built next to his hacienda to control the slaves. Today, climbing it reveals a panorama of this breathtaking environment. Trinidad and the Valley de los Ingenios are declared World Heritage Sites by UNESCO (1988).

Situated on the riverbanks of the river Yayabo, the settlement of Espíritu Santo, now Sancti Spíritus (City), is where you can enjoy the spirit of a quiet colonial city. It was founded by the Spaniard (Diego Velazquez), in 1514, as one of the original seven Cuban cities. Historically, Sancti Spíritus City was somewhat neglected and had to compete with Trinidad. Just outside Sancti Spíritus is Embalse Zaza, Cuba’s largest manmade lake. The freshwater lake is popular among fishermen, and the areas around it are now pristine wetlands, home to many water birds.

Sancti Spíritus province has one of the most important mountainous systems on the island, the Sierra del Escambray.

Playa Ancon is at about 12 km south of Trinidad adjacent to the Caribbean Sea.

Why book with us
  • Your trip, your way
  • Booked and organised in Cuba
  • Our local roots, we live in Cuba
  • 24/7 support by our local hosts